The current Diocesan Cathedral Museum of Valencia had its origin in the Antique Museum or Valentian Diocesan Museum created by the Archbishop Andres Mayoral in 1761. This museum was set up in the Archbishop's Palace till it disappeared during the French invasion in 1812. The Diocesan Archaeological Museum of Valencia was created towards the end of 1922 on the initiative of Cardinal Enrique Reig Casanova, wishing to gather together all the works scattered across the diocese in an organized collection open to the public. At first, the Diocesan Museum continued in the Archdiocese Palace in the Almoina Square, next to the metropolitan church. During the Civil War (1936-1939), the Palace and the Museum were destroyed. Some of their pieces are kept in the Cathedral.
In 1954, the Chapter and the Archbishopric inaugurated the Cathedral Museum in order to catalogue and exhibit in a more reasonable and accessible way some antiques of great value of the Cathedral collection. At the same time, they could showcase the materials for the excavation and the architectural elements removed in the recent alterations of the Cathedral.
In the First Hall we can see the original sculptures of the Door of the Apostles and the scene in relief of the masterpiece by the artist Alejo de Vaia, the Dormition of the Virgin Maria, among other works of Gothic sculpture. Panel paintings of the 15th century such as The Doubt of St. Thomas by Marsal de Sas (1400), St. James the pilgrim, by Maestro de Perea (Master of Perea); St. Benedict and St. Idelfonso by Jaume Baço, The Transfiguration by Maestro de Bonastre and also some more panels by Reixach and other artists from that period.
[Via catedraldevalencia.es website]